ECOWAS court installs new judges

ECOWAS court installs new judges

Yvonne Williams

ECOWAS Judicial Council  Wednesday installed seven new judges of the ECOWAS Court at a ceremony to launch its 2015 legal year.

The judges who were installed by Justice Mamadou Kone, Chairman Judicial Council of the community, were sworn-in on June 18, 2014 by President Dramami Mahama, Chairman of the Authority of Heads of State and Government.

In his address, Kone requested the judges to bring in their wealth of experience to enhance democracy and the respect for human rights in the region.

“The mentality of our community is the need for democracy and the respect of human rights,” he noted.

The judges installed were Justice Maria Do Céu Monteiro from Guinea Bissau, President of the ECOWAS Court and Justice Friday Chijioke Nwoke from Nigeria, Vice President of the ECOWAS Court.

Others include Justice Traore Jérôme from Burkina Faso, Justice Haméye Malhalmadane from Mali, Justice Alioune Sall from Senegal, Justice Boiro Yaya from Guinea and Justice Micah Wright.

The court’s legal year was also officially launched by Justice Maria Do Céu Monteiro, President of the ECOWAS Court.

The theme of this year’s ceremony is “The Effectiveness of ECOWAS Community Law: Challenges of Enforcement”.


Happenings Media