Happenings Media
Aiteo/NFF Awards
Aiteo/NFF Awards

2019 Aiteo/NFF Awards: All That Went Down, With Photos

Get the scoop of all that went down at the second edition of the Aiteo/NFF Awards here. Plus, don’t miss the photos of all the colour, glitz and glamour of the event. 

King Solomon Ekhaiyeme

Football stars and celebrities graced the 2019 Aiteo/NFF Awards, which held on Monday night at the Eko Convention Centre, Lagos.

With comedian, Bovi, at the event, this year’s edition, which was aimed at celebrating the legends of Nigerian football, was filled with fun, laughter, and many great moments.

Winners of the night included Anam Imo (Young Player of the Year, Female), Samuel Chukwueze (Young Player, Male), Gbenga Ogunbote (Coach of the Year, Male), Thomas Dennerby, ( Coach of the Year, Female), Super Falcons (Team of the Year), Kano Pillars (Fans of the Year), Channels TV ( Development Award), Ebi (Female Player of the Year), and Ahmed Musa ( Player of the Year.)

There was a special recognition award for the Lagos State Sports Commission and FIFA Secretary General, Fatma Samba Diouf Samoura.

The highlight of the occasion was the special recognition given to the 1994 Super Eagles Team. Many of the players, including Taribo West, Ben Iroha, Finidi George, Mutiu Adepoju, Daniel Amokachi, Uche Okechukwu, Agustine Equavoen, Peter Rufai, Alloy Agu, Austin Jay-Jay Okocha, Sunday Oliseh, and Samson Siasia were present. They were given a standing ovation as they received their awards.

The emotional speeches of Augustine Eguaveon and Sunday Oliver also added a touch of spice and nostalgia to the event.

While giving his speech, NFF President, Amaju Melvin Pinnick, explained that he was full of gratitude to Aiteo Group and its Chairman, Mr. Benedict Peters, for being a great supporter of Nigerian football.

He called on other Nigerian billionaires to emulate him by investing in sports, which will aid youth development and job creation.

Check out photos from the event below:

Photo credit: Solomon Ekhaiyeme.