Homepage - Online Entertainment and Lifestyle Magazine in Nigeria
Ogun PDP Crisis: Dimeji Bankole, OGD, Adebutu Join Forces Against Sen. Kashamu

Ogun PDP Crisis: Dimeji Bankole, OGD, Adebutu Join Forces Against Sen. Kashamu


By: Tunde Ogunmola

The protracted crisis rocking the boat of Ogun State chapter of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) is far from being over.

News reaching Happenings.com.ng revealed that the trio of former governor of the state, Otunba Gbenga Daniel, OGD; former House of Representatives Speaker, Dimeji Bankole and Hon. Ladi Adebutu who represents Remo Federal Constituency in Ogun State have teamed up to wrestle the structure of the party from Senator Buruji Kashamu.
The present quarrel in the party is between Senator Kashamu led faction, and Hon. Ladi Adebutu. However, as you read this piece, Hon. Adebutu is gradually getting the upper hand in terms of support.
We gathered that OGD and Dimeji Bankole have pitched their tent with Hon. Adebutu to take over the soul of the party in the state. After the Supreme Court judgment declared Ahmed Makarfi as the authentic interim National leader of the party, Dimeji Bankole along with his followers joined the Hon. Adebutu faction.
The seed of discord in Ogun State PDP was sown in 2008 when Hon. Titi Oseni was impeached which led to division in the party. Two factions emerged then, one loyal to the then Governor, Gbenga Daniel, the other was loyal to Dimeji Bankole and Senator Iyabo Obasanjo-Bello.

The polarized crisis took another dimension before the 2011 elections when it further broke into two factions, one loyal to former Nigerian President, Olusegun Obasanjo, and the other faction was for Gbenga Daniel.
Needless to say that the bitter quarrel then led to Gbenga Daniel angrily leaving the party to form a new political party, Peoples Party of Nigeria (PPN), under which platform Gboyega Isiaka vied for the governorship seat of Ogun State.

Obasanjo led faction presented General Tunji Olurin (Rtd) as its governorship candidate. But at the end of it all, neither Obasanjo nor OGD factions clinched the governorship seat in the State. Instead, Governor Ibikunle Amosun of the All Progressives Congress (APC) won the seat.