Aregbe and Oyetola
Aregbe and Oyetola

Oyetola Takes Over From Aregbesola Today As Osun State Governor



The governor-elect of  Osun State, Isiaka Adegboyega Oyetola will today, November 26, 2018, take over officially from the outgoing governor, Ogbeni Rauf Aregbesola.

Oyetola will be sworn in later today, after succeeding Aregbesola who has completed his eight-year term.

Before Aregbesola and his family move to his  hometown in Ilesa, he will witness the swearing in of Oyetola which takes place at the Oshogbo Township Stadium.

After the creation of Osun State in 1991, four governors such as the late Senator Isiaka Adeleke, Chief Bisi Akande have ruled the state under a democratic setting.

Olagunsoye Oyinlola and Ogbeni Rauf Aregbesola were also former governors of the state.

Oyetola is the fifth governor of Osun State.

The 64-year old new governor-elect in the last election won with a slight margin, defeating PDP’s candidate, Senator Ademola Adeleke.

But in a twist of event, Adeleke headed to the tribunal to claim his stolen mandate from Oyetola who won in a controversial run-off with 482 votes.

The PDP candidate, Adeleke had earlier led APC candidate with 353 votes before the rerun in seven polling unit.

Happenings Media