The Nigerian Governors
The Nigerian Governors

Guber Poll: APC Takes Lagos, Ogun, Kwara, PDP Wins Oyo, Benue, Akwa Ibom

Guber Poll: APC  Takes Lagos,Ogun,Kwara,PDPWins Oyo Adamawa, Akwa Ibom

Funsho Akinwale

The Independent National Electoral Commission, on Sunday, released some results for the State House of Assembly election which held on Saturday across the country.

In Oyo State, Seyi Makinde, of PDP, scored 515,621 to defeat the All Progressives Congress candidate, Adebayo Adelabu, who polled 357, 982 votes.

Babajide Sanwo-Olu, the APC Lagos governorship candidate, on Saturday, won with a wide margin, to beat PDP governorship flag bearer, Jimi Agbaje.

Sanwo-Olu, who was backed by the ruling party national leader, Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu, polled 739,445 out of the 977,476 total valid votes to defeat Jimi Agbaje and other 43 governorship candidates.

Also in Ogun State, Dapo Abiodun of the All Progressives Congress was announced winner of the governorship poll. Abiodun scored 241,670 votes to defeat Governor Amosun’s preferred successor and candidate of Allied People’s Movement, Adekunle Akinlade, who polled 222,153 votes.

People’s Democratic Party (PDP) won all the South East states and South South states, except Rivers State where the election was declared inconclusive.

Happenings Media