Homepage - Online Entertainment and Lifestyle Magazine in Nigeria
Bukola Saraki - Happenings

Saraki, Akpabio, Kwankwaso, Sani, Biggest Losers Of The 2019 Election (Opinion)

How Saraki, Akpabio, others lost at the 2019 election

The 2019 general election has come and gone but it is still painful to the biggest losers; Senators Rabiu Kwankaso, Godswill Akpabio, Shehu Sani and the Senate President, Dr. Olubokola Saraki, who by the political waves in their respective states, failed to return to the national assembly.

Funsho Akinwale, in this piece, chronicles their downfall and past mistakes which led to their defeat.

Bukola Saraki

Former Kwara State Governor and the current Senate President, Olubukola Saraki, is one of the four prominent senators who won’t be returning to the National Assembly in 2019.

The Senate President, on February 23, lost the Kwara Central senatorial seat to a commoner, Ibrahim Oloriegbe, of the All Progressives Congress (APC).

Bukola Saraki
Bukola Saraki

The controversial politician, whose defeat is still being celebrated by his former party, APC, forcefully became the Senate President in 2015 against the wishes of his party.

Saraki spent most part of his tenure fighting his party and the presidency over the corruption, money laundering and false declaration of asset charges still hanging on his neck like an albatross.

The former banker, after several consultations in his country home and to retain his seat in the 2019 election, defected to Peoples Democratic Party and joined ranks with Atiku Abubakar for a presidential candidate slot, before dropping the move to support the former vice president.

Godswill Akpabio
Godswill Akpabio

Godswill Akpabio

Senator Godswill Akpabio has lost his bid to return to the Red Chamber in 2019.

The former Akwa Ibom State Governor put up a good fight to retain his job but lost to PDP candidate, Chris Ekpenyong, who was well accepted and massively voted for, during the February 23 national assembly election.

The former Majority Leader of the current 8th Senate, defected to the ruling party to seize power from his successor, Udom Emmanuel, after they both fell out over irreconcilable differences.

After his defection, Akpabio tried all means to stop Governor Emmanuel Udom from returning to the government house but his effort proved futile, as he lost the Akwa Ibom North West senatorial seat, while the incumbent governor won in a landslide victory, defeating Nsima Ekere of APC.

However, Udom, a former handpicked godson of Akpabio, was ostensibly taking Akpabio’s position as the godfather of Akwa Ibom politics with his victory.

Rabiu Kwankwaso
Rabiu Kwankwaso

Rabiu Musa Kwankwaso

Former Kano State Governor, Rabiu Musa Kwankwaso, is also one of the popular senators who failed to return to the Red Chamber after massive support given to President Muhammadu Buhari during the February 23 presidential and national assembly elections in Kano State.

Despite his Kwankwasiyya movement in Kano, the commercial hub of the North, Rabiu could not stop Buhari from carting away 1.4 million votes from the state.

Shehu Sani
Shehu Sani

Shehu Sani

Prominent Kaduna politician, Senator Shehu Sani lost his second term bid over his infamous defection to People’s Redemption Party (PRP) from All Progressives Congress (APC).

All through his four year term, Sani engaged in a verbal word and supremacy fight with the state governor, Malam El’ Rufai.

While the battle was at its peak, for Shehu to retain his senatorial seat, he dumped the ruling party for PRP where he lost to the former aide of the governor.

Uba Sani of APC scored 355,242 votes, to defeat Shehu Sani, who polled 70,613 votes.

Also read: Saraki Loses Political Hold On Kwara As APC’s Abdulrazaq Wins Governorship Election