Homepage - Online Entertainment and Lifestyle Magazine in Nigeria

Adamawa, Kano, Ogun, Oyo Top List of Buhari’s Aides     

As Buhari resumes office, Ogun, Oyo, Adamawa top appointment list.       

Funsho Akinwale

As President Muhammadu Buhari resumes office on May 29, 2019 for his second term in office, appointees from Oyo, Kano, Ogun and Adamawa top the list of those who have been penciled down for all categories of appointments.

According to sources privy to the appointment list distributed among the 36 states of the federation, Adamawa State where the president’s wife hails from and Kano, Oyo, Ogun have more representatives as aides to the president than other states.

Apart from Adamawa and Kano who have 12 and 11 appointees respectively, Ogun and Oyo come third and fourth with 9 aides to work with the president.

Appointees from Kaduna, Katsina, the home of the president, and Lagos, the stronghold of the national leader of the ruling party, Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu, also dominate the appointment list.

While Zamfara, Bayelsa, Ebonyi, Kebbi, Nasarawa, and Plateau States remain at the bottom of the list.

A further breakdown shows that appointees of political aides from Abia are 2, Adamawa (12), Akwa Ibom (5), Anambra (2), Bauchi (4), Bayelsa (1), Borno (4), Cross River (3), Delta (6), Ebonyi (1), Ekiti (7), Enugu (2), Gombe (3), Imo (2), Jigawa (2), Kaduna (9), Kano (12), Katsina (9), Kebbi (1) and Kogi (3).

Others are: Kwara (3), Lagos(9), Nasarawa (1), Niger (3), Ogun (11), Ondo (6), Osun (7), Oyo(11), Plateau (1), Rivers (3), Sokoto (2), Taraba (3), Yobe (3) and Zamfara(1).

Meanwhile, a breakdown of the list of appointments into boards of federal parastatals and special agencies shows that 14 of the appointees are from Abia State, 21 from Adamawa, Akwa Ibom (12), Anambra (20), Bauchi (18), Bayelsa (nine), Benue (17), Borno (21), Cross River (12), Delta (23), Ebonyi (7), Edo (30), Ekiti (12), Enugu (8), FCT (2), Gombe (15), Imo (29), Jigawa (12), Kaduna (16) and Kano(16).

Other states on the list include: Katsina (24), Kebbi (13), Kogi (22), Kwara (21), Lagos (17), Nasarawa (12), Niger (20), Ogun (31), Ondo (17), Osun (12), Oyo (12), Plateau (8), Rivers (13), Sokoto (6), Taraba (9), Yobe (9) and Zamfara (7).