Nigerians React to Beyonce’s New Album Featuring BurnaBoy,  Wizkid, Tiwa Savage & Others
Beyonce The Lion King : The Gift 

Nigerians React to Beyonce’s New Album Featuring BurnaBoy, Wizkid, Tiwa Savage & Others

Beyonce has released her Lion King: The Gift album featuring some Nigerian artistes, see what social media is saying.

Rejoice Obike

Beyond being the voice for the Lion King remake, Beyonce has released a Lion King-inspired album, The Lion King: The Gift.

The 14-song album has her original tracks including collaborations with the likes of Jayz, Kenderick, Childish Gambino, and Pharrell.

Aside foreign features, the Lion King: The Gift included a number of African acts, which had some of our favorite Nigerian artistes too; Tekno, Yemi Alade, Mr Eazi, Burna Boy, Wizkid, Tiwa Savage, then, Moonchild Sanelly, Busiswa, Salatiel and Shatta Wale.

In an interview with ABC, she says the soundtrack is a love letter to Africa:

I wanted to make sure we found the best talent from Africa. Not just use some of the sounds and do my interpretation of it. I wanted it to be authentic about what is beautiful about the music in Africa


Burna boy's "Ja Ara E" and Wizkid's "Brown Skin Girl" are already making waves as a controversy has broken out between fans on Twitter, about whose feature sounded better.

Although Burna Boy was featured on the track, it was rather a solo act by him. While Wizkid's track had Beyonce, Blue Ivy Carter, and Saint Jhn. Other Nigerian feature was Don't Jealous Me, a collaboration between Tekno, Yemi Alade, and Mr. Eazi.

The Lion King: The Gift Songs:

01 Beyoncé: "Bigger"

02 Beyoncé: "Find Your Way Back (Circle of Life)"

03 Tekno / Yemi Alade / Mr. Eazi: "Don't Jealous Me"

04 Burna Boy: "Ja Ara E"

05 Beyoncé / Kendrick Lamar: "The Nile"

06 Beyoncé / JAY-Z / Childish Gambino: "Mood 4 Eva"

07 Salatiel / Pharrell / Beyoncé: "Water"

08 Blue Ivy Carter / SAINt JHN / WizKid / Beyoncé: "Brown Skin Girl"

09 Tiwa Savage / Mr. Eazi: "Keys to the Kingdom"

10 Beyoncé: "Otherside"

11 Beyoncé / Shatta Wale: "Already"

12 Tierra Whack / Beyoncé / Busiswa / Yemi Alade / Moonchild Sanelly: "My Power"

13 070 Shake / Jessie Reyez: "Scar"

14 Beyoncé: "Spirit"

See what Nigerians are saying on social media about the album:

Happenings Media