FIFA The Best Awards: All The Nominees Revealed

FIFA The Best Awards: All The Nominees Revealed

Felix Egbomuche

Felix Egbomuche

The World's football governing body, FIFA, have revealed the final shortlist of players and coaches for the FIFA The Best Awards.

In the male category, Liverpool defender, Virgil van Dijk who won the UEFA player of the year award last week has been nominated alongside five-time winners, Cristiano Ronaldo, and Lionel Messi.

USA women's national team captain, Megan Rapinoe, teammate, Alex Morgan, and Three Lioness forward Lucy Bronze are the final three nominees for the female category.

The male coach of the year category has three managers from the Premier League( Jurgen Klopp, Pep Guardiola, and Mauricio Pochettino) vying for the title, while USA head coach, Jill Ellis, Phil Neville of England and Sarina Wiegman, coach of the Netherlands national team have been shortlisted.

Nominees for other categories were also announced with winners set to be announced on 23 September.

The Best FIFA Football Awards finalists in full

The Best FIFA Men’s Player

Cristiano Ronaldo (POR) - Juventus

Lionel Messi (ARG) – FC Barcelona

Virgil van Dijk (NED) - Liverpool

The Best FIFA Women’s Player

Lucy Bronze (ENG) – Olympique Lyonnais

Alex Morgan (USA) – Orlando Pride

Megan Rapinoe (USA) – Reign FC

The Best FIFA Men’s Coach

Pep Guardiola (ESP) – Manchester City

Jurgen Klopp (GER) – Liverpool

Mauricio Pochettino (ARG) – Tottenham Hotspur

The Best FIFA Women’s Coach

Jill Ellis (USA) – USA national team

Phil Neville (ENG) – England national team

Sarina Wiegman (NED) – Netherlands national team

FIFA Fan Award

Silvia Grecco (BRA)

Netherlands Fans at the Women’s World Cup (NED)

Justo Sánchez (URU)

The Best FIFA Men’s Goalkeeper

Alisson (BRA) - Liverpool

Ederson (BRA) – Manchester City

Marc-André ter Stegen (GER) – FC Barcelona

The Best FIFA Women’s Goalkeeper

Christiane Endler (CHI) – Paris Saint-Germain

Hedvig Lindahl (SWE) – Chelsea / Wolfsburg

Sari van Veenendaal (NED) – Arsenal / Atletico Madrid

FIFA Puskás Award

Lionel Messi (ARG) - Real Betis v FC Barcelona [La Liga] (17 March 2019)

Juan Fernando Quintero (COL) - River Plate v Racing Club [Argentinian Superliga] (10 February 2019)

Dániel Zsóri (HUN) - Debrecen FC v Ferencváros TC [Nemzeti Bajnoskag I] (16 February 2019)

Happenings Media