VIDEO: Watch The Moment Megan Rapinoe Was Announced As The New Women’s Best Player

VIDEO: Watch The Moment Megan Rapinoe Was Announced As The New Women’s Best Player

Felix Egbomuche

Felix Egbomuche

Captain of the World Cup winning USA national team, Megan Rapinoe, has been named the women's player of the year at the 2019 FIFA's 'The Best' award ceremony which held in Milan.

Rapinoe was joint top scorer with 6 goals at this summer's World Cup which was played in France. She won the Golden Boot and Golden Ball for being the best player of the tournament.

The 34-year-old was the face of the tournament for her outspoken views on women's football, US president Donald Trump and campaigning for LGBT rights.

Rapinoe was voted the women's player of the year, ahead of fellow American Alex Morgan and England's Lucy Bronze.

"Some of the stories that inspired me this year are [Manchester City forward] Raheem Sterling and [Napoli defender] Kalidou Koulibaly - their incredible performances on the field and their reaction to the disgusting racism they have to face, this year but probably for their whole lives," Rapinoe said as she commenced her speech that ended with a plea against racism and for women’s rights.

"I feel like if we really want to have meaningful change, what I think is most inspiring would be if everybody other than Sterling and Koulibaly were as outraged about racism as they were.

"If everybody was as outraged about homophobia as the LGBTQ players, if everybody was as outraged about equal pay or the lack thereof, or the lack of investment in the women's game, other than just women, that would be the most inspiring thing to me.

"We have such an incredible opportunity being professional footballers, so much success, an incredible platform.

"I ask everyone here, lend your platform to other people, share your success. We have a unique opportunity to use this game to actually change the world for better. I hope you take that to heart, do something, we have incredible power in this room."

Rapinoe's national team coach, Jill Ellis, took the women's coach award ahead of England's Phil Neville and Netherlands' Sarina Wiegman.

Happenings Media