Happenings Media
Buhari and Ramaphosa
Buhari and Ramaphosa

Nigeria, South Africa Sign 10-Year Visa Agreement     

Buhari, Ramaphosa sign 10-year visa agreement.     

Funsho Akinwale

As part of the conclusion of the 9th Bi-National Commission between Nigeria and South Africa, the two countries have signed an agreement on issuing 10-year visas to businessmen, academics and frequent travelers.

The decision was adopted by the two presidents, Cyril Ramaphosa of South Africa and President Muhammadu Buhari, with the aim to further consolidate on the bi-lateral relationship.

A statement released by Garba Shehu, the Senior Special Assistant to the President (Media and Publicity), confirmed the agreement between the two presidents.

Shehu said the agreement was reached after the elevation of the Bi-National Commission.

“The decision was taken to encourage more people-to-people contacts among citizens of both countries and further strengthen socio-cultural, economic and political relations.

“Both countries also agreed to re-establish the consular forum, which is a structured arrangement where both governments meet regularly, at least twice in a year, to discuss the welfare of citizens," Shehu said.