Chukwueze, Sancho, De Ligt And Felix Battle For Kopa Trophee 2019

Chukwueze, Sancho, De Ligt And Felix Battle For Kopa Trophee 2019

Felix Egbomuche

Felix Egbomuche

Villarreal and Nigerian forward, Samuel Chukwueze, has been shortlisted for the 2019 Kopa Trophee.

The award was named after former French footballer, Raymond Kopa, and is in its second year.

Chukwueze, who had a very fine year with Villarreal and an outstanding outing at the 2019 Africa Cup of Nations, will battle for the award of Best Under-21 Player of the Year with nine other super talented youngsters.

The likes of Jadon Sancho, Matteo Guendouzi, Matthijs de Ligt and Joao Felix were also on the shortlist announced by France Football on Monday.

Last year, the trophy was scooped by Paris Saint-Germain forward, Kylian Mbappe, with Christian Pulisic and Justin Kluivert finishing in second and third positions.

The Kopa Trophee is unique because of its voting style. The winner is voted for by former Ballon d’Or winners, including Lionel Messi, Cristiano Ronaldo and Luka Modric, making it more special for whoever wins it.

Chukwueze is Africa's only representative on the list that has seven European representatives, while South America and Asia also have one representative each.

Full list:

Joao Felix (Atletico Madrid/Portugal)

Jadon Sancho (Dortmund/England)

Moise Kean (Everton/Italy)

Samuel Chukwueze (Villarreal/Nigeria)

Kang-in Lee (Valencia/South Korea)

Matthijs de Ligt (Juventus/Netherlands)

Vinicius Junior (Real Madrid/Brazil)

Kai Havertz (Bayern Leverkusen/Germany)

Matteo Guendouzi (Arsenal/France)

Andriy Lunin (Real Valladolid/Ukraine)

The winner of the Kopa Trophee will be announced at the Ballon d'Or ceremony which will take place on December 2.

Happenings Media