Ten Goalkeepers Shortlisted For First-Ever Yachine Trophy

Ten Goalkeepers Shortlisted For First-Ever Yachine Trophy

Felix Egbomuche

Felix Egbomuche

Alisson, Jan Oblak, Marc-Andre ter Stegen and Ederson are among the 10 nominees for the inaugural Trophee Yachine award.

On December 2 at the Ballon d'Or ceremony, one of the shortlisted goalkeepers will win the new award introduced by France Football.

Injured Tottenham captain, Hugo Lloris, and Manuel Neuer of Bayern Munich are also among the contenders for the trophy.

Inter Milan's Samir Handanovic and Serie A champions, Juventus goalkeeper, Wojciech Szczesny, join Chelsea shotstopper, Kepa, and Cameroon international, Andre Onana, who helped Ajax reach the semi-finals of last season's Champions League complete the list.

Despite the creation of this new award, the goalkeepers will remain eligible for the main Ballon d'Or prize, with Lloris, Alisson and Ter Stegen on that shortlist.

Last month, France Football confirmed the introduction of the new award which they have named after former goalkeeper, Lev Yashin, the only goalkeeper to have won the Ballon d’Or in 1963. Yashin played for the Soviet Union between 1954 and 1967.

Liverpool goalkeeper, Alisson, is heads on favourite to win this one, having scooped the FIFA Best Goalkeeper award last month, ahead of Ederson and Ter Stegen.

Full list of nominees:

Alisson (Liverpool/Brazil).

Manuel Neuer (Bayern Munich/Germany).

Ederson (Manchester City/Brazil).

Andre Onana (Ajax/Cameroon).

Wojciech Szczesny (Juventus/Poland).

Jan Oblak (Atletico Madrid/Slovenia).

Kepa Arrizabalaga (Chelsea/Spain).

Samir Handanovic (Inter Milan/Slovenia).

Hugo Lloris (Tottenham/France).

Marc-Andre ter Stegen (Barcelona/Germany).

Happenings Media