CAF Awards Shortlist
CAF Awards Shortlist

Ighalo In, Ndidi And Rohr Dropped From CAF Awards Shortlist

Felix Egbomuche

Felix Egbomuche

The nominees for the various categories of the 28th edition of the annual CAF Awards have been unveiled by the continent's football governing body.

The shortlist was released on Tuesday, December 3, following the completion of the first phase of the voting from a CAF Technical & Development Committee and a panel of media experts with emphasis on the nominees’ performance during the year 2019 under review.

Odion Ighalo, Asisat Oshoala, Victor Osimhen, Samuel Chukwueze, Thomas Dennerby, and the Super Falcons are nominated in various categories while Wilfred Ndidi, Chiamaka Nnadozie, Uchenna Kanu, Super Eagles coach, Gernot Rohr, were chopped off from the previous list.

The last phase of voting for the men and women’s African Player of the Year, as well as the male and female Coach of the Year will be done by Head Coaches/Technical Directors and Captains of senior national teams from CAF Member Associations.

For the Interclubs Player of the Year, the Head Coaches and Captains of the teams in the group phase of the current season of CAF Interclubs competitions will select the winner.

Winners in all categories will be announced during the CAF Awards ceremony scheduled to hold at the Albatros Citadel Sahl Hasheesh, Hurghada, Egypt, on Tuesday, January 7, 2020.

The full list of shortlists are as follows (in alphabetical order):

Player of the Year

André Onana (Cameroon & Ajax)

Hakim Ziyech (Morocco & Ajax)

Ismail Bennacer (Algeria & AC Milan)

Kalidou Koulibaly (Senegal & Napoli)

Mohamed Salah (Egypt & Liverpool)

Odion Ighalo (Nigeria & Shanghai Shenhua)

Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Gabon & Arsenal)

Riyad Mahrez (Algeria & Manchester City)

Sadio Mane (Senegal & Liverpool)

Youcef Belaili (Algeria & Ahli Jeddah)

Women’s Player of the Year

Ajara Nchout (Cameroon & Valerenga)

Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria & Barcelona)

Gabrielle Onguene (Cameroon & CSKA Moscow)

Tabitha Chawinga (Malawi & Jiangsu Suning)

Thembi Kgatlana (South Africa & Beijing Phoenix FC)

Interclubs Player of the Year

Anice Badri (Tunisia & Esperance)

Kodjo Fo Doh Laba (Togo & RS Berkane / Al Ain)

Taha Yassine Khenissi (Tunisia & Esperance)

Tarek Hamed (Egypt & Zamalek)

Youcef Belaïli (Algeria & Esperance / Ahli Jeddah)

Youth Player of the Year

Achraf Hakimi (Morocco & Borussia Dortmund)

Krépin Diatta (Senegal & Club Brugge)

Moussa Djenepo (Mali & Southampton)

Samuel Chukwueze (Nigeria & Villarreal)

Victor Osimhen (Nigeria & Lille)

Men’s Coach of the Year

Aliou Cisse (Senegal - Senegal)

Christian Gross (Switzerland - Zamalek)

Djamel Belmadi (Algeria - Algeria)

Moïne Chaâbani (Tunisia - Esperance)

Nicolas Dupuis (France - Madagascar)

Women’s Coach of the Year

Alain Djeumfa (Cameroon)

Bruce Mwape (Zambia)

Clementine Toure (Côte d'Ivoire)

Desiree Ellis (South Africa)

Thomas Dennerby (Nigeria)

Men’s National Team of the Year

1. Algeria

2. Madagascar

3. Nigeria

4. Senegal

5. Tunisia

Women’s National Team of the Year

1. Cameroon

2. Côte d'Ivoire

3. Nigeria

4. South Africa

5. Zambia

Happenings Media