Coronavirus: Nigerian Government Places Travel Ban On 13 High-risk Countries

Felix Egbomuche

Felix Egbomuche

The Federal Government of Nigeria, on Wednesday, placed a travel ban on 13 countries with the most cases of the novel coronavirus.

The high-risk countries are those who have recorded more than 1000 cases of the infection so far.

China, Italy and Iran who have been the most hit are now on the list while South Korea, Spain, Japan, France, Germany, Norway, the United States of America, the United Kingdom, Netherlands, and Switzerland are the other countries.

The ban would take effect from Friday, March 20, and it would last for four weeks and would be subject to review. All visas issued to nationals from these countries have also been temporarily suspended.

"Govt. of Nigeria is restricting entry into the country for travellers from: China, Italy, Iran, South Korea, Spain, Japan, France, Germany, United States of America, Norway, United Kingdom, Netherlands & Switzerland. These are countries with > 1,000 cases domestically, " a statement on Nigeria's Centre for Disease Control Twitter handle read.

"The Federal Government of Nigeria has also suspended the issuance of visa on arrival to travellers from these countries.

"All travellers returning from these countries prior to the restriction will be in supervised self-isolation, monitored by NCDC and Port Health Services.”

Happenings Media