Happenings Media
Aregbesola inaugurates 6-man commission on communal crisis

Aregbesola inaugurates 6-man commission on communal crisis

Yvonne Williams

Osun state governor, Gov. Rauf Aregbesola  has inaugurated a six-man judicial commission of inquiry to look into the communal clash between Ipetumodu and Ashipa communities in Ife Local Government Area of the state.

Speaking at the inauguration, Aregbesola charged the commission, which has Justice Jide Falola as Chairman, to dig deep into the circumstances that caused crisis.

The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) recalls that hostilities broke out between the two communities on Jan. 13.

Aregbesola listed the terms of reference to include investigation and determination of the identities of the perpetrators and sponsors of the communal clash.

The governor also said the commission would recommend appropriate administrative, civil or criminal action to be taken against individuals or groups involved in the incident.

The commission, Aregbesola added, would recommend appropriate monetary sum as compensation for any damage or injuries that might have been suffered as a result of the communal clash.

“Land is one of the issues that we are so passionate about, especially in non-industrialised societies, but this is false consciousness.

“Human beings will lose their claim to being civilised if at this age they still prefer raw and sadistic actions to dialogue in the settlement of disputes among themselves,”  he said.

Falola, in his remarks, called on the warring communities to cooperate with the commission in the discharge of its duties.

“Our mandate is very clear and that is to do a diligent work and come out with a template for resolution of communal clashes in our state and beyond.

“The commission hereby assures Mr Governor that we shall do our work to the best of our ability within the set time frame,’’ Falola said.

NAN reports that other members of the commission are Mr Adelowo Adewumi, Mr Mufutau Oluwadare and Mr Elijah Ojo.

The rest are Charles Chioma representing the police while Taofeek Komolafe would serve as the commission’s Secretary.

NAN reports that the commission has six weeks to submit its report.