Ex-speaker rejects Fayose’s appointment

Ex-speaker rejects Fayose’s appointment


A former factional Speaker of Ekiti State House of Assembly, Mr. Dele Olugbemi, has rejected his nomination by Governor Ayodele Fayose as a member of the House of Assembly Service Commission.

Olugbemi shunned the screening and confirmation of nominees on Tuesday and Wednesday, but the four other nominees were confirmed by the Assembly.

Those whose nominations were confirmed were a former Speaker, Olatunji Odeyemi (Chairman), Bode Ajewole, Mrs. Lanre Fajuyi and Muyiwa Fadahunsi.

Leader of Government Business, Olatunji Akinyele, moved the motion for the amend of the House of Assembly Service Commission Law 2003 (as amended) “to accommodate nominees from the three senatorial districts.”

It was the fourth amendment to the Ekiti State House of Assembly Service Commission Law.

This, according to the House, was to ensure fairness to all the districts and to ensure equitable distribution of positions.

Reacting to Olugbemi’s non-appearance and rejection of the appointment, Speaker Kola Oluwawole said a nominee could not be forced to accept an offer.

Oluwawole said, “If you offer somebody appointment and he says no, there will be a replacement because there are so many people yearning for this opportunity.

“People who are very intelligent and qualified are looking for this opportunity and government will ensure that another replacement is made.

“We stepped it down (on Tuesday) because we wanted to ensure that there is a balance in representation on the commission.

“It had to be stepped down to do some necessary adjustment to ensure equity and fair play because every segment of Ekiti State is made to feel a sense of belonging. It is a development we have to address and it has nothing to do with the fact that somebody declined the offer. If I am giving you an offer and you say no, you cannot be compelled to serve in a particular agency or commission, it is a matter of choice.”

Akinyele said, “It’s no big deal at all, we are to clear the House of Assembly Service Commission board nominees.
“The members have to be five and we are having four nominees now, the fifth person is going to be included so that the confirmation will be done at the same time. That is just the simple reason.”

Olugbemi did not answer calls placed to his telephone on Wednesday. He has also yet to reply to a text message.
Olugbemi was among the six All Progressives Congress lawmakers that defected to the PDP after October 16 inauguration of Fayose.

He fought on the side of the governor to resist an impeachment plot by the 19 APC lawmakers against him.

Happenings Media