Homepage - Online Entertainment and Lifestyle Magazine in Nigeria
Senator Oluremi Tinubu
Senator Oluremi Tinubu

Oluremi Tinubu, Ekweremadu, Folarin, Others Eye Senate President’s Seat

After Bukola Saraki’s defeat at the polls, his seat as Senate President will be vacant, come the inauguration of the 9th assembly. See those vying for the plum position.

Funsho Akinwale

Wife of the APC National Leader, Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu, Oluremi Tinubu, Teslim Folarin, Senator Ajayi Borofice and the current Deputy Senate President, Ike Ekweremadu, of the People’s Democratic Party, PDP, are members of the Green Chamber jostling to become the next Senate President.

The major bone of contention presently in the polity, after President Muhammadu Buhari returned for the second time as president, is the leadership seat of the 9th National Assembly.

The current Senate President of the 8th National Assembly, Senator Olubukola Saraki, is apparently out of the race following his defeat by APC candidate, Ibrahim Oloriegebe, in the last National Assembly election in Kwara Central Senatorial district.

The ruling party, likely to preside over the legislative arm of the government, is said to have zoned the senate presidency to the North-East and the Speaker of the Federal House of Representatives as well as Deputy Senate Presidency to the South West.

With the latest zoning arrangement of the ruling party, the race for the seat of the deputy senate president is now between former Majority Leader, Teslim Folarin, Oluremi Tinubu and Senator Ajayi Borofice.

After the National Assembly election, the ruling party retained majority status following the results declared by Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

The result has thus stimulated the APC to quickly zone the presiding and principal offices of the chambers to geopolitical zones to avoid any rancor within the party.

Recall in 2015, Saraki forcefully became the Senate President against the wishes of the party.

The issue degenerated into a major controversy before Saraki defected to PDP to properly have a foothold as the Head of the Senate.

Also read: Have You Met Ibrahim Oloriegbe, The Man Who Defeated Senate President, Bukola Saraki?