Yahaya Bello
Yahaya Bello

20 Kogi Governorship Aspirants Tackle Yahaya Bello Over Primary Race     

Funsho Akinwale

Chaos involving members of the All Progressives Congress, Kogi State chapter, at the party secretariat, Abuja, was averted by the police on Monday.

Some hoodlums loyal to Kogi State Governor, Yahaya Bello, had stormed the premises earlier to harass many, including some journalists at the venue.

The political thugs were said to have invaded the secretariat on a tip off that some people were on the verge of staging a protest against the governor’s interest.

The quick response from the uniformed men, who stopped the bandits from gaining access to the venue, averted a major crisis.

The bone of contention leading to the fracas at the party secretariat in Abuja was the purported indirect primaries rejected by over 20 governorship aspirants in Kogi State.

The aspirants expressed sadness over the adoption of the National Working Committee’s selective approach which is against the party’s constitution.

The aggrieved party candidates include Sheikh Ibrahim Jibril, Chief Momoh Y. Obaro, Prince Sani H. Shuaibu, Comrade Gowon Egbunu, Prince Sanni Shuaibu, Prince Mustapha Mona Audu, Alhaji Ahmed Ibrahim Aruwa, Gen. Akpa Patrick, Engr. Sunday Edibo, Khalid Adams and Yusuf Ali.

Others are Aliyu Zakari-Jiya, Dr Tim Diche, Alhaji Yusuf Haruna, Admiral Usman Jibrin (retd.), Alhaji Mohammed Audu, Alhaji Mohammed Ali, Alhaji Sani Lulu Abdullahi, AlhajiJibrin Haruna Mohammed, and AIhaji Yakubu Mohammed.

Happenings Media