Imo Speaker Defects To APC, Joined By 7 Others

Imo Speaker Defects To APC, Joined By 7 Others

David Ugbabe

Speaker of the Imo State House of Assembly, Collins Chiji, has been joined by seven other members of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) to defect to the All Progressives Congress (APC).

According to reports, the speaker, and the seven other dumpees, announced their defection during a Tuesday plenary which lasted for 15 minutes.

The APC, therefore, has 18 lawmakers now, owing to the defection, while PDP is left with eight lawmakers in the Imo State House of Assembly.

The speaker announced the names of the defecting lawmakers, who include Uche Ogbuagu (Ikeduru), Dominic Ezerioha (Oru West), Chigozie Nwaneri(Oru East), Kanayo Onyemaechi (Owerri West), Kennedy Ibe (Obowo), Onyemaechi Njoku (Ihitte/Uboma), and Eddy Obinna (Aboh Mbaise).

Meanwhile, it is reported that Uju Onwudiwe (Njaba), winner of the supplementary election held on Saturday on the Action Alliance platform, is yet to be sworn-in by the speaker.

Happenings Media