Senate Confirms Amshi As NASS Chairman 

Senate Confirms Amshi As NASS Chairman 

Jayfred Ugo

Jayfred Ugo

The Senate House of Assembly has confirmed the immediate appointment of Mr Ahmed Amshi as Chairman, National Assembly Service Commission (NASS), alongside 11 others who were also appointed as members of the commission.

This appointment was made after the thorough consideration of the report of the Senate Committee on Establishment and Public Service during a plenary session based on President Muhammadu Buhari’s request.

The president mandated the Senate to confirm the eligibility of Amshi as the new chairman of the commission.

While filing the report, the chairman of the committee, Senator Ibrahim Shekarau, announced that the committee had screened the nominees and was satisfied with their experiences in the area of expertise.

Senator Shekarau, however, noted that the committee proposed that another person be nominated to fill the South-East (Imo) slot of Nnamdi Anyaechie, who had declined the nomination.

Members of the commission include Babagana Modu, (Borno, North East); Abubakar Tutare (Taraba, North East); Hakeem Akamo (Lagos, South West); Tunrayo Akintomide (Ondo, South West); Atanomeyorwi Francis (Delta, South-South).

Others are Bassey Etuk (Akwa-Ibom); Bailyaminu Yusuf Shinkafi (Zamfara, North West); Sani Saidu Kazaure (Jigawa, North West); Julius Ucha (Ebonyi, South East); Auwalu Aliyu Ohindase (Kogi, North Central); and Muazu Is’haq (Nasarawa, North Central).

In his final remarks, the Senate President, Ahmed Lawan, commended the committee for their resilience in getting the job done. He also said that this new appointment was done at a good time.

“We pray that the newly confirmed chairman and members of the committee would swing into action as soon as they get their appointment letters.

“We have not had the service commission in place for a long time and it is affecting the operations of the National Assembly,” he said.

Happenings Media