Lagos State Assembly: Lawmakers Laud Obasa, Pass Vote Of Confidence
Mudashiru Obasa

Lagos State Assembly: Lawmakers Laud Obasa, Pass Vote Of Confidence

David Ugbabe

The Lagos State House of Assembly, at the plenary session on Monday, passed a vote of confidence on the speaker, Mudashiru Obasa.

The House passed this vote while acknowledging the speaker’s effort in managing the crisis that embroiled the House last week over the removal of two principal officers and suspension of two other members.

Also, the Lagos Legislators Forum, which is the official body of all former lawmakers of the State House of Assembly, requested Obasa to “ensure that peace reigns, so as to sustain the standards of diligence and good image that the state legislature was noted for since the creation of the state.”

In a statement issued by the forum’s spokesman, Ipoola Omisore, the party urged the warring parties involved to settle the matter amicably in the best interest of good governance in the state.

The forum, under the leadership of the Speaker of the third Assembly, Alhaji Rasheed Fashina, condemned a petition written by Comrade Buna Isiaka against the speaker to the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission, EFCC. The group described it as baseless and noted that it had proposed a visit to the Chambers, so as to further intervene in the matter.

It was gathered that the Lagos State Assembly had indefinitely suspended Hon. Olanrewaju Oshun, representing Lagos Mainland constituency II, and Hon. Raheem Adewale, representing Ibeju Lekki constituency II, earlier in March over alleged gross misconduct, insubordination and actions capable of tarnishing the image of the House.

During a plenary session, a letter signed by about 26 of the 40 lawmakers seeking a change of leadership was read by the clerk of the House, Azeez Sanni.

Noheem Adams from Eti-Osa constituency I was elected as the new Majority Leader while Mojisola Merandah, representing Apapa constituency I, was elected as the new Chief Whip.

Happenings Media