Oyinlola, Arapaja, Obada, Others Return To PDP      
Oyinlola, Arapaja, Obada, and others

Oyinlola, Arapaja, Obada, Others Return To PDP     

Funsho Akinwale

The Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) in the South-West, on Wednesday, welcomed the ex-governor, Olagunsoye Oyinlola, Erelu Obada and Arapaja back into the party.

Scores of members of rival parties also defected to the opposition party.

They were all received in a big inauguration ceremony at Mapo Hall in Ibadan, the Oyo State capital.

The defection rally tagged, ‘PDP South-West Zonal Unification Rally’, was attended by party stalwarts, including the former Deputy National Chairman of the PDP (South), Chief Olabode George, Chief Eddy Olafeso, Chief Shuaibu Oyedokun, former governor Ayodele Fayose, Segun Sowunmi, Dr Saka Balogun, and Mrs Mutiat Ladoja.

Others at the ceremony included Governor Douye Diri of Bayelsa State, Uche Secondus, Prince Toyese Oyinlola, Senator Ademola Adeleke, Ladi Adebutu, Yemi Akinwonmi, Chief Oyewole Fasawe, Ayo Fadaka, and Prince Diran Odeyemi.

Senator Francis Fadahunsi, while addressing the forum, said the return of former Governor Olagunsoye Oyinlola to the Peoples Democratic Party signaled the end of the reign of the All Progressives Congress in the state and in Nigeria.

He added that the return of Oyinlola would give the needed energy and add to the strength of the leadership that the party needed to return to its winning ways.

“Oyinlola’s legacies remain the only government presence in many communities across Osun to date. Those communities will have to reciprocate that gesture by supporting the PDP.

“Those with grievances should forgive each other and be willing to sacrifice more, so as to work as a team in future election,” the statement added.

Happenings Media