Luka Modric World Cup 2018
Luka Modric World Cup 2018

Modric, Ronaldo and Salah Are The Top Three For The FIFA The Best Award.

Felix Egbomuche

Felix Egbomuche

Luca Mordic, Cristiano Ronaldo and Mohammed Salah have been listed as the final three nominees for the FIFA Best player of the year award.

Ronaldo and Modric both won the UEFA champions league title last season before Modric led the Croatian national team to the finals of the World Cup. Salah was the revelation of the Premier League last season scoring a record breaking 32 league goals.

Lionel Messi who also missed out of the UEFA men’s player of the year award fails to make the cut for the first time since the inception of the award. Antoine Griezmann who led France to World Cup victory in Russia is another player who had a great year that misses out.

Victorious Brazil Copa America Feminina captain Marta, Lyon duo Ada Hegerberg and Dzsenifer Maroszan who lifted the UEFA Women’s Champions League are the three nominees for the female version of the awards.

UEFA champions league winning manager Zinedine Zidane, coach of the triumphant French World Cup winning team, Didier Deschamps and Zlatko Dalic of Croatia completing the men’s trio.

Lyon’s Reynald Pedros and Japan’s Asako Takakura, join Netherlands’s tactician Sarina Wiegman in vying for the women’s award.

Ten goals scored by Bale, Cheryshev, Christodoulopoulos, Ronaldo, De Arrascaeta, McGree, Messi, Pavard, Quaresma and Salah have been selected for the Puskas Award, while The Best FIFA Goalkeeper Award will be contested between Belgium’s Thibaut Courtois , France’s Hugo Lloris and Denmark’s Kasper Schmeichel, three men who shone at the World Cup in Russia.

Voting fordifferent awards have commenced on FIFA platforms.

Happenings Media