Lacazette And Laporte Snubbed For France Euro Qualifying Games

Lacazette And Laporte Snubbed For France Euro Qualifying Games

Felix Egbomuche

Felix Egbomuche

Arsenal striker, Alexander Lacazette, and Manchester City defender, Ayumeric Laporte, have been left out of the French squad to prosecute upcoming games against Moldova and Iceland.

A 24-man squad that includes Griezmann, Lloris, Pogba, Kante, and many others from the 2018 World Cup winning squad was released on Thursday as they get set to start off their European Championship qualifying campaign.

Didier Deschamp has looked beyond the Premier League duo once again as well as in-form Sevilla forward, Wissam Ben Yedder, despite their fine form for the clubs.

The French tactician preferred to name Everton centre back, Kurt Zouma, and Samuel Umtiti, who has been injured for a while in his team ahead of 24-year-old Laporte who has established himself as Pep Guardiola's first choice centre back.

Manchester United midfielder, Paul Pogba, and forward, Anthony Martial, return to the squad after missing France’s two games against the Netherlands and Uruguay in November.

Olivier Giroud makes the cut while Bayern Munich's Kingsley Coman returns to Les Bleus for the first time since 2017.


Goalkeepers: Alphonse Areola, Hugo Lloris, Steve Mandanda.

Defenders: Lucas Digne, Presnel Kimpembe, Layvin Kurzawa, Benjamin Pavard, Djibril Sidibe, Raphael Varane, Samuel Umtiti, Kurt Zouma.

Midfielders: N'Golo Kante, Blaise Matuidi, Tanguy Ndombele, Paul Pogba, Moussa Sissoko.

Forwards: Kingsley Coman, Nabil Fekir, Olivier Giroud, Antoine Griezmann, Anthony Martial, Kylian Mbappe, Florian Thauvin.

Happenings Media