Super Eagles
Super Eagles

Aiteo NFF Awards: 1994 Eagles To Get Special Recognition

All is set for the second edition of the Nigeria Football Federation (NFF) awards ceremony which is scheduled to hold today, 1st April

Felix Egbomuche

Felix Egbomuche

The second edition of the Nigeria Football Federation (NFF) awards ceremony, sponsored by Aiteo, is set to hold on April 1st.

The event, which is slated to hold at Eko Hotels and Suites, Lagos, will see stars from the past and present celebrated in what should be a colourful event.

One of the main events of the occasion will be the special recognition of the 1994 Eagles team that qualified Nigeria for her first ever FIFA World Cup under the guidance of Dutch tactician, Clemens Westerhof.

The team was ranked as the 5th best team in the world by FIFA In April 1994, the highest FIFA ranking position ever achieved by an African football team.

Regarded by many as the greatest Nigerian team ever and one of Africa's finest, the team had the likes of Stephen Keshi (late), Austin Eguavoen, Sunday Oliseh, Peter Rufai, Rashidi Yekini (late), Samson Siasia, Finidi George, Ben Iroha, Daniel Amokachi, Austin Jay Jay Okocha and a host of other legendary Nigerian football stars.

Aside from the celebration of those legends, some of the current crops of national team players and coaches are nominated in different award categories.

Dignitaries from across Nigeria and the world are expected to be present, while the Secretary-General of FIFA will be there to receive an award.

The outgoing and incoming governors of Lagos State, Akinwunmi Ambode and Babajide Sanwolu, will also receive awards according to the first Vice President of NFF, Barrister Seyi Akinwunmi.

The event will commence with a red carpet by 6:30 pm and run till 7:15 pm while the doors close by 7:20 pm for the awards proper.

Happenings Media