Nigeria Pitch Awards
Nigeria Pitch Awards

Ighalo, Musa And Francisca Ordega Among Winners At Nigeria Pitch Awards

Jayfred Ugo

Jayfred Ugo

The sixth edition of the Nigeria Pitch Awards, which held in Asaba, saw Ighalo, Ahmed and Wilfred Ndidi, among many others win awards.

Ahmed Musa was named King of the Pitch for his brace against Iceland which apparently handed the Super Eagles their first and only victory at the 2018 Fifa World Cup in Russia.

Francisca Ordega was named Queen of the Pitch for the key role she played in ensuring the Super Falcons were African champions for a record ninth time

Barrister Seyi Akinwunmi, who represented the Nigeria Football Federation (NFF) president, commended the organisers of the awards, while reiterating his full support for the country’s "football house for the Pitch Awards."

The list of winners in full

Goalkeeper of the Year: Francis Uzoho

Defender of the Year: William Troost-Ekong

Midfielder of the Year: Wilfred Ndidi

Striker of the Year: Odion Ighalo

MVP in NPFL: Junior Lokosa

MVP in the NWFL: Rasheedat Ajibade

Queen of the Pitch: Francisca Ordega

King of the Pitch: Ahmed Musa

Coach of the Year: Gbenga Ogunbote

Club of the Year: Enugu Rangers

National Team of the Year: Super Falcons

Referee of the Year: Adebimpe Quadri

Sam Okwaraji Awards: Seyi Akinwunmi

State with the Best Grassroots Football Dev. Prog: Lagos State

Football Friendly Gov. of the Year: Gov. Ifeanyi Okowa

Football Journalist of the Year (Print): Johnny Edwards

Football Journalist of the Year (Radio): Tony Bekederemo

Football Journalist of the Year (TV): Mozez Praiz

Football Journalist of the Year (Online):  Samuel Ahmadu

Corporate Sponsor of Football: AITEO Group

The winners of the day gathered for a picture
The winners of the day gathered for a picture

Shina Philips, president of the awards, expressed gratitude to the NFF and Delta State government for their backing in giving Nigerians a transparent and credible award.

“We will continue to do what is right because we believe our players need to be motivated by a transparent and credible reward system which will see them earn the respect of everyone in the football community,” Mr. Philips said.

Happenings Media