Ronaldo, Messi And Van Dijk Headline FIFA The Best Men’s Player Of The Year Nominees
FIFA The Best Nominees

Ronaldo, Messi And Van Dijk Headline FIFA The Best Men’s Player Of The Year Nominees

Felix Egbomuche

Felix Egbomuche

The shortlist for the 2019 The Best Men's Player of The Year has been released by the World's football governing body, FIFA.

Both Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi continued the trend of being on the final nomination listings since their first appearance in 2007.

They are joined on the list by some of the games other biggest stars who had a remarkable 2018/2019 Season.

Former Chelsea star, Eden Hazard who led the Blues to a second Europa League title last season and was named the PFA fans player of the season makes the cut.

Kylian Mbappe who continued his meteoric rise to the top with PSG last season and was named the Ligue 1 player of the year after scoring 33 goals in 29 appearances in the French top-flight is also listed.

One of the surprise names on the list is Tottenham striker, Harry Kane. The Englishman had his least productive year in front of goal in five years, managing only 24 goals in 40 appearances.

Mane who led his country to the final of the Africa Cup of Nations where they were defeated by eventual winners, Algeria is one of two Africans who were selected, the other being his Liverpool teammate, Mohamed Salah.

Another Liverpool man who's got a shout at the title is Netherlands centre back, Virgil van Dijk. The Dutch national team captain was a rock for both club and country last season and finished his first full season with the Reds without any attacking player dribbling past him. He also finished runner up in the UEFA Nation's League with his country.

Ajax Amsterdam academy graduates and two of Eredivise's finest players from the past season Frenkie de Jong and Matthijs de Ligt are listed too.

Although both young stars have moved on to join Barcelona and Juventus, their exploits for Ajax last season locally and in the Champions League was impossible to ignore.

There were, however, some not able absentees on the list that has raised a few eyebrows. Manchester City duo, Raheem Sterling and Bernardo Silva had a spectacular year with the Citizens and were nominated for the PFA Awards.

Sterling was crowned the PFA Young Player of the Year while Bernardo added more colour to his year when he helped Portugal win the UEFA Nations League on home soil.

Another name that was exempted from the least is Premier League Golden Glove winner, Alison Becker who also won the Champions League and Copa America Golden Glove awards.

The Best FIFA Men’s Player nominees

Cristiano Ronaldo (POR) – Juventus

Frenkie de Jong (NED) – Ajax / FC Barcelona

Matthijs de Ligt (NED) – Ajax / Juventus

Eden Hazard (BEL) – Chelsea / Real Madrid

Harry Kane (ENG) – Tottenham Hotspur

Sadio Mane (SEN) – Liverpool

Kylian Mbappe (FRA) – Paris Saint-Germain

Lionel Messi (ARG) – FC Barcelona

Mohamed Salah (EGY) – Liverpool

Virgil van Dijk (NED) – Liverpool

Happenings Media