Tennis championship
Tennis championship

Lagos State Set To Kick Off Tennis Championship

Bernard Femi

Lagos State is set to host other countries for the 2019 Lagos Open Tennis Championship.

The country will be represented by 16 competitors, seven men and nine women.

Lagos will be locked down, as 56 countries are expected to participate in the event that would take place at the Lagos Lawn Tennis Club, Onikan.

The players selected from Nigeria will compete against other notable players from various countries. The tournament will begin with qualifying matches, while winners of the qualifiers will join the main draws of the singles and double event later.

Nigeria's Joseph Imeh Ubon will lead the Nigerian team to clinch the medals, as he has a straight slot to play at the main draws as one of the best local players and ranked 1537 in the world. Other Nigerian players include Paul Emmanuel, Jamiu Bolaji Sulaimon, Nsikan Friday, Sylvester Emmanuel, Muhammed Muhammed and Boluwaji Alepaye.

Also, the women will be led by Barakat Oyinlomo Quadre, who also has a straight slot to play at the main draws for her good reputation and skills recognized by the Local Organizer Committee and Nigeria Tennis Federation (NTF).

Other women taking part in the tournament include Blessing Anuna, Aanu Ayegbusi, Omolade Aderemi, Rachel Olamide Adunloye, Ozi-Oiza Josephine Yakubu, Sarah Adegoke and Osariemen Airhumwunde.

Happenings Media